Status: Return to home and summer plans<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

I've finally made some decisions, I'm so bad at deciding these things. But I'm coming home with Maija, her dad and her boyfriend. We're going to have a little road trip through the <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Europe. Can't really remember the route, at some point France, some ferries and finally Stockholm – Turku. So I'll be in Finland the morning of 11th June. And starting work 12th June. Working in the nursing home Koukkuniemi until 25th June when I switch to university hospital and surgical emergency room. Work there for three weeks until we have Stockholm reunion around 12th July. Then I have three weeks off and I should probably write my dissertation, which I haven't done the whole spring. Hate the project, but then again, who wouldn't? Then another week of work in Koukkuniemi the second week of August, and then back to uni and start of small clinics: paediatrics, ob&gyn and ENT. We'll see how I adapt back to Finland, I've heard that it's not the easiest thing in the world to come back from an exchange. And I have some additional fun problems to solve.

 

Status: Physical

Last couple of days not so good, yesterday fever rose close to 39 degrees and throat is  sore as hell. Today I got antibiotics for tonsillitis, without a swab! So I'm hoping I'm in those 40% who actually have bacterial tonsillitis instead of viral, cause that would mean I'd soon be better with the antibiotics. Once again I'm shocked how easy it is to get antibiotics here, no wonder if they have a huge problem with antibiotic resistance. Our guidelines (and the research behind them) clearly state that you can not tell between bacterial and viral tonsillitis on the basis of symptoms. And my god, who actually prescribes penicillin taken FOUR times a day, when you have take it into an empty stomach or at least an hour before food!? But that's not for professionals;) So I'll probably change it to two times a day. Then I'd actually have some sort of chance remembering to take the drugs…